College of Electronic Science and Technology

College of Electronic Science and Technology (CEST) was established in September 2006, which was originated from the Optoelectronic Technology specialty of the Faculty of Applied Physics in College of Sciences, Shenzhen University in 1995.

Considering the main industry development and talent requirement of the area of Pearl River Delta, CEST offers three undergraduate programs: Electronic Science and Technology (the brand IT major of Guangdong Province), Optoelectronic Information Science and Engineering (The characteristic major of Guangdong Province), Microelectronic Science and Engineering. CEST has two first-grade subjects on master’s degree programs: Electronic Science and Technology, Optical Engineering (Key Subject of Guangdong Province). Two second-grade subjects on master’s degree programs: Optics (supported key subject of Guangdong Province), Radio Physics. The college also offers one Professional master's degree program: Optical engineering. There is one Doctorate Degree program and the Post-doctorate Station in Optical Engineering. Basically, the college has formed the complete system of talent-training through bachelor, master to the doctor.

There are two key Laboratories in CEST: Key Laboratory of Advanced Optical Precision Manufacturing Technology of Guangdong Higher Education Institutes, Shenzhen Key Laboratory of Laser Engineering, Shenzhen Key Laboratory of Micro-Nano Photonic Information Technology. In the Teaching Laboratory Ceter for Electronic Science and Technology, there are Basic Electronic Technology Lab, Opto-Electronic Device Lab, Micro Electronic Technology Lab and Innovative Electronic Technology Lab.

At present, the college has about 900 undergraduates, 100 master and doctor candidates, and 3 post-doctors.

The college has a high-qualified faculty team, which is composed of 60 teachers, including 2 visiting academicians, 6 supervisors for doctorate candidates, 17 professors and 18associate professors, among whom 2 committee members of Education Bureau, 1 "Hundred-Thousand-Ten" National Talents, 3 professors holding the title of "State Special Contribution Expert", 4 professors receiving a monthly special bonus from the State Council. 77% of the faculties hold doctorate degrees, and 39% of them have the experience of studying abroad.